Board of Governors

The American School of Valencia is legally formed as a limited liability corporation in the Kingdom of Spain, with all of its capital established by shares held predominantly by the parents of registered students at the school.

The Board of Governors is the highest executive body of the American School of Valencia, and its members are ratified in the General Shareholder’s Meeting. The members of the Board of Governors are parents of registered students at the school, who strategically plan the future ad long-term success of the school, provide financial oversight and offer community leadership. Daily operations are carried out by a professional team of school leaders for both academic and financial matters.

The Board of Governors is charged with the primary responsibility of:

1. Providing strategic planning and policy guidance for the future and long-term success of the school.

2. Providing fiduciary oversight of the financial operations of the school, including approving all annual school fees.

3. Hiring and evaluating the Director.

4. Building a strong and engaged school community.

Through the General Shareholders Meeting, which is announced publicly and held each year, every shareholder is provided the opportunity to ratify the management plan being carried out (or that will be carried out) by the Board of Governors.

The ownership of the school belongs, generation after generation, to parents with a clear interest in the school and the education of their children. Consequently, the success of ASV is the result of the constant effort of successive generations, designed by parents as shareholders of the school.

Current Members

President: Dr. Javier Sánchez
Ph.D. in Business Administration.
Full Professor of Marketing at Jaume I University, Castellón (Spain).
Secretary / Ex Officio Member: Mr. Mariano Durán Lalaguna
Member: Mr. Juan José Clemente
Civil Engineer. MSc. Ouvarges d’art en la Universidad ParisTech.
Manager in a consultancy firm. Lecturer at the Polytechnic University of Valencia.
Member: Dr. Irene Comeig
Ph.D. in Economics. MSc in Accounting and Finance.
Associate Professor of Financial Economy and Accounting at the University of Valencia (Spain)
Member: Ms. Anja Gerken
Degree in Business Management. Julius-Maximilians-Universität – Würzburg (Germany)
Jacaranda Marketing (international agency on sports marketing)
Member: Dr. Begoña Giner
Ph.D. in Economics. MSc in Accounting and Finance.
Professor of Financial Economy and Accounting at the University of Valencia (Spain).
Member: Ms. Maribel Pastor
Nursing Graduate.
Director of a real-state group. Manager in the hospitality business and in childhood education.
Member: Dr. Miguel Peris
Ph.D. in Chemistry.
Professor of Food Analysis at the Faculty of Agronomy, Department of Chemistry, Polytechnic University of Valencia (Spain).